How to change minimum distance between cities?

By on November 18, 2012 10:55:43 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

Ragnin

Join Date 02/2006
+1

Does anyone know How to change the minimum distance between cities?  I'm playing using the larger map mod and I would like to increase the number to tiles between cities.  But I can't seem to find any option in the files to change it.  Any help would be appreciated.

Locked Post 7 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
November 18, 2012 11:01:16 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

In the ElementalDefs.xml file at the very bottom of the file. There are a number of min distance settings. They even have a switch for each map size.

November 18, 2012 11:55:24 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

Thanks for pointing that out.  I have no knowledge when it comes to modding really but now I'm trying to figure out how to get a min city distance for the huge maps from the Larger maps mod found here http://forums.elementalgame.com/436540

Currently its automatically set at 5 which is much to close for a huge map.  I'd like to get up to 8 or even 7 but I'm not sure how to go about it.  I tried adding the line

<MinDistancesBetweenCities_HugeMap>8</MinDistancesBetweenCities_HugeMap>

but that didn't work.  So I need to figure out how to get the game to acknowledge the Huge maps and create a switch for it in the Defs.xml.  I just have no clue how to go about this.

November 19, 2012 12:00:45 AM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

Technically that map would still be seen as Large I think. Just change the Large setting to 8 and see what happens. That is the essential learning method of modding. Also, think of ElementalDefs as the registry in a computer. Messing with the structure will seriously crash your fun. Don't add anything. Only changing values will work. It's the least moddable file in the box.