Version 1.4

By on September 23, 2011 10:35:41 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

BlackRainZ

Join Date 02/2006
+17

Why was the last thread on version 1.4 locked? I think some valid points were made in there and I can't seem to understand the response from frogboy. This is what was said:

"I'm sorry you feel that way. I fear you won't find FE to be worthy either. I certainly enjoy WOM at this point and I think most people would. That said, sure, I can see endless ways to improve WOM but it absolutely makes no sense to try to overhaul WOM because no matter what, users will always be able to throw how flawed the game was on release to back up any current criticism of the game.

I've been making games for 20 years. If WOM v1.4 had been the initial release, it would have done very well critically and commercially despite the flaws you see in it. I still see people who claim Galactic Civilizations II was "unfinished" and even Sins of a Solar Empire. It is the nature of the beast of any game of significant complexity.

But to paraphrase a famous saying, games are never finished, they are simply shipped."

I am not trying to be rude, just trying to understand. Heavenfall made some very relevant comments on the state of the game and I dont understand how those comments could just be brushed off as some kind of "opinion" or some kind of "apples" and "oranges" thing. What I mean is, those things, all of them are serious flaws, bugs, etc. with the game. How can that be considered just a matter of opinion? It isn't even a matter of improving the game but fixing the inherent problems in it. I can understand giving up on the game, just moving on and making FE great but I remember statements saying that WOM would continue to be worked on, etc and I feel like they figured they couldn't fix it so they are just quitting on it.

Locked Post 13 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!