Okay, what am I missing?

A 4X veteran's frustration

By on August 29, 2010 6:03:17 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

Weidbrewer

Join Date 03/2006
+19

I must be missing something.  It's not that I haven't played games like this - I've been playing 4X games for over 20 years - and that's what is baffling me.  I'm playing this game on the easiest level, and I'm getting my ass handed to me.  Soundly and repeatedly.  Pretty much from the get-go, I'm fighting an uphill battle, even when only against 2 other factions.

• If I turtle around just a few cities and try to build them up, the other factions explode and take over the map
  • If I try to expand at the pace the others are, I over extend and can't support them.
  • I've been building monetary structures and send out caravans, but I still can't keep my funds up
  • No matter how many resource tiles I build on, the other factions have far, far more resources than I do, and their cities are huge.
  • From the start, the wandering barbarian-type NPCs are just brutal and sack my cities no matter what I have guarding them - and no matter how strong of units I research, they sap my money and I get obliterated the second someone declares war on me - which they'll do at the drop of a hat, treaty or not.

Especially given that these are all happening on the easiest level - a setting I haven't used in a 4x game in years - leads me to believe that there is something very fundamental that I must be missing, but I don't know what it is.  Any suggestions?

Locked Post 40 Replies +1
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
August 29, 2010 6:09:57 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums